Back to School Pencil Case

picmonkey photo 1

Have I mentioned that I’m rarely on time? All too often, I find myself sprinting through campus trying to get to school, only to arrive sweat- covered and panting to first period. Not an attractive way to start the school day.

So as another sign of my lateness, I made my pencil case for school this year late. About two weeks after school had started, actually.

This floral pattern is wonderfully vintage, and I paired it with a simple navy cotton fabric for the inside. I also used a nine inch white zipper and navy thread

first photo for realsies this time.

        First, cut two squares measuring 10 inches by 5 inches of each fabric. This leaves room for a half an inch seam allowance.

   DSC07107

Next, pin the outer fabric, right side up, on the top side of the zipper. On the bottom side, pin your interior fabric. Sew a zig-zag stitch on top of the case. Do the same for the other side of the zipper.DSC07117

DSC07118

Open zipper and turn the pencil case inside out; so that the interior fabric is facing towards you. Pin the fabric together as evenly as you can, and then sew around all edges with a half inch seam.DSC07124

I don’t have a serger to finish the edges, but a zig-zag stitch works just as well in this case. DSC07126

Flip the case inside out, and there you go!

DSC05536

Thank you so much for tuning in! If anything at all wasn’t clear in the descriptions, or if you have any other questions or suggestions, let me know in the comments! And don’t be afraid to hit that follow button up there! 🙂

7 thoughts on “Back to School Pencil Case

Leave a Reply

